Montrachet @ Paddington

Montrachet on Urbanspoon
I always wanted to repay a visit to one of my regulars who works at Montrachet. Keeping my fingers crossed that my 6 year old daughter will behave, we went out to lunch one weekday.

Montrachet was a restaurant I liked to use entertaining relatively close corporate guests when I was a mining industry executive. I have a good memory of chatting with Thierry and Sydney chef Damien Pignolet at the counter, and a couple weeks later, my wife gave me Damien’s book “French” for my birthday.

We revisited and Thierry Galichet was still there hosting and making sure all the guests were looked after.

After I introduced myself and asked some novice questions about the Gamay glass wine being so different to the Beaujolais Nouveau he devoted a lot of his time running through his list, of the various pinot’s and gamay’s.

The amuse bouche to start, calamari, foie gras, rockfort creme brûlée. Brilliant.

We got a few entrees as our meals. Sand crab souflette, steak tartar, quail and poached egg burgundy. Faultless.
The kids steak with pomme fritte and bernais sauce. I probably enjoyed it more than my daughter.

Desserts, tarte tatin with bananas and crepe Suzette. The crust of the tarte tatin was beautifully crispy.

We thoroughly enjoyed the indulgent food, decor and ambience as well as the impeccable service. This is probably my ideal kind of service, you don’t have to even try to make eye contact with the waiter, and he offers special kids menu without asking first, and at the same time, you don’t feel being constantly circled or uncomfortable in any way. The service isn’t too formal, and never casual, the customer is always king, and there is the proper amount of distance.

Note. I have obtained thierry’s permission to post this blog but he is generally opposed to getting photos taken etc.

20130414-134217.jpg

20130414-134226.jpg

20130414-134246.jpg

20130414-134254.jpg

20130414-180008.jpg

20130414-180022.jpg

20130414-180032.jpg

20130414-180040.jpg

20130414-180050.jpg

20130414-180056.jpg

20130414-180103.jpg

20130414-180109.jpg

2 Responses to Montrachet @ Paddington

  1. Montrachet is always faultless every time I visit,…they also remember their repeat customers and greet you like friends. When seated though, you are genuinely and warmly (yet with the professional distance required) serviced from start to finish impeccably. Never a complaint can I level at them. Thierry always likes a sneaky drink after hours too and you are never made to feel as if you have outstayed your welcome even if all the customers have gone home for the night except for yourselves. The food is also consistently gorgeous and traditional.

Leave a Reply

