Taro’s Girls

Like Charlie has his Angels, I have my Taro’s Girls. And those of you who have visited my shop would know, mighty beautiful girls they are too!  They perform backflips and beat up my enemies and greet me every morning “Good morning, Taro–!”. 

Let us take one step back. In Japan, it is customary for girls to give chocolates to the boys of their choice on Valentine’s Day.

There are the so called Honmei Choco (true blue) which are home made or expensive and fancy and then there are the Giri Choco (social necessities) which are a couple dollars for a dozen so the girls can hand them out to the losers that they feel sorry for.

This is the special opportunity for girls to work up the courage to give a chocolate to their admired boys.

Provided my popularity with girls, it may be easy for you to imagine that this was one of the most dreaded days of the year. I can probably count the number of chocolates I received in my life. Some from my wife and past girlfriend(s?). Some Giri Choco from K san at my old job, a couple giri from the girls in the same hanggliding club during uni, some from the girl managers at the American football club in highschool. And that’s basically it. Most average Japanese boys would have a few fond memories of an unexpected Honmei after school at the locker hall, none for me.

Anyway, yesterday I was hit with a surprise attack. It is in the Giri category for sure but the thought moved me a lot. Because contrary to my joked imagination scene, we have a very professional relationship and these girls are my aces, my lean mean ramen machines. So when they came out with that box of chocolate written as from “Taro’s Girls”, it made my day! Thank you so much girls! You guys are the best!!!!

Oh and I forgot to mention that March 14th is white day and boys get to give back a white chocolate or a candy or
something expensive back to the girls.

20120215-160829.jpg

20120215-160837.jpg

2 Responses to Taro’s Girls

  1. Michelle says:

    “…and then there are the Giri Choice (social necessities) which are a couple dollars for a dozen so the girls can hand them out to the losers that they feel sorry for” – LOL!!!!

    It is really sweet of them to give you chocolates!
    Hope you and Mrs Taro had a lovely Valentine’s Day =)

Leave a Reply

