Brisbane News Review

We had been picked up by a cool town information website fourthousand.com.au in June.

http://www.fourthousand.com.au/eat-drink/taros-ramen-caf/

But now, we got our first professional review by a magazine.  Brisbane News has reviewed Taro’s. Click on the edition with the title “Go Fish”, the review article is on page 26.   

http://www.brisbanenews.com.au/index.html

Same article in the courier mail website archive

http://www.couriermail.com.au/lifestyle/food-wine/taros-ramen-cafe/story-e6frer6f-1225947232574

It was actually a pretty fair process.  I didn’t even know that they came in.  They come in anonymously and call you up afterwards to set up a photo shoot.  So they’ve been treated as one customer out of many and I am very happy with the way they wrote about us.  I can’t complain about the ambience score 6/10 as currently I am putting my resources not on the decor or interior but where it counts, ingredients, time & effort on the food but would have liked them to pick up more on the sake, shochu and wine list that I have personally selected rather than just evaluating us an average 7/10.

10 Responses to Brisbane News Review

  1. HONDA says:

    おもしろい!
    なんか文章全体では褒められてていい感じでしたね。
    日本のラーメンにも精通してる方なんですかね。
    いや~でも写真見てたらTONKOTSU Ramen食べたくなってきてしまいました!:9

  2. alicehon says:

    Great review of your tonkotsu and soyu ramen. No mention about any other offerings in your menu. Also no mention on the drinks…ocha, sake, shochu, winelist like you said. It sounded like this is a place for ramen only and for workers, students and single people. Hmmmm….at least they said the ramen is good and the prices reasonable….not the servings though. Hope you will learn something from this review and it will give you some publicity (free, so cannot complain).

  3. Jess says:

    I read the review in the Bris News which is why I’m checking out the blog, and hope to come in to Taro sometime soon… if I’m doing this then I’m sure I’m not the only one :). Good luck!

    • Hi, thanks Jess. Yes, the effect is immediate. More people, friendly and skeptical, are coming thru our doors after the review has been published. There have been more bookings as well but at the same time, many cancellations with no notice. I am sure my taste will not appeal to all of those who come in but hope that perhaps a handful of those will like it and tell someone about the experience or decide to come back.

  4. Michelle says:

    Hello Taro,

    My friend and I ate at your restaurant on Friday night and personally, I found the tonkotsu to die for! I drank the broth down to the last spoonful, and particularly enjoyed how it was unctuously rich without being weighed down by grease. The egg was also incredibly good.

    I have been revisiting that meal time after time since Friday, and I think it’s time for a return visit soon!

    Just thought you would like to know that I found out about Taro’s Ramen House via the Brisbane News article =)

    Keep up the good work!

  5. Natalie says:

    Taro,

    Firstly and most importantly my friend, congratulations on sublime Ramen, I have been to your establishment 4 times including the last 2 nights in a row and honestly, I could eat your Ramen daily.

    I was actually told about Taro’s by a foodie and boy, was it ever more than what was promised by that foodie friend and by your own standards. I had not and have not read the Brisbane News Review, however, I can tell you from experience that the real food appreciators care not as much for decor as they do for a food sensation.

    You deliver in spades of quality , honesty and generosity, something severely lost in most other establishments. I have and will continue to sing your praises to all who will listen as will I continue to haunt your premises for my weekly Ramen fixes. It cannot be beat.

    Heres to Great Ramen – Thank You

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 924 other followers

